Historical Summary of the Canton Joint Engineering Council (CJEC)

Last updated on December 22, 2020

The Canton Regional Society of Professional Engineers (CRSPE) was concerned with the frequent conflicts in program dates, which occurred between the various engineering societies in the Canton area. In September 1962, the CRSPE News Bulletin published the programs and other meeting information of six engineering societies, which had members in the Canton Regional area. The number of societies furnishing information varied from month to month, and often there were no notices published.

Tom Morgan, coordinator of Engineers Week activities for CRSPE, invited ten area engineering societies to send representatives to a meeting on April 17, 1969 to discuss the idea of a multi-society sponsored Engineers Week in February 1970. It had previously been conducted by CRSPE only. There was general agreement to cooperate and a follow-up meeting was set for November 20, 1969.

The November 20, 1969 meeting was held at the Logan Restaurant (since burned down) and in addition to discussing the various activities for Engineers Week, a comprehensive discussion was led by Mr. Kai Licht about the Akron ACESS organization and the advantages of a similar Canton organization. Most societies indicated they were definitely interested in the prospect of such a Canton group, but would like further details before obligating their organizations. Mr. Kai Licht agreed to chair a subcommittee to draft a proposed constitution for a similar group of the Canton Engineering societies (per November 20, 1969 meeting minutes by Tom Morgan).

The first draft of the proposed constitution was presented at the January 15, 1970 meeting by Kai Licht, chairman of the AJoint Societies By-Law Committee for review by each society and returned with constructive criticism.

The group met monthly and from various names proposed it was decided at the March 19, 1970 meeting to call the new joint society AThe Canton Joint Engineering Council. The AThe was later dropped.

At the June 18, 1970 meeting, Bill Lyon from IEEE was appointed chairman of a committee with J. Brunner from ASM and H. Miller from ASME to devise and present by-laws for operation of the CJEC. Also, in addition to the regular Engineers Week committees, (Tickets, Program, Engineer-for-a-Day, Displays, and Publicity, all chaired by CRSPE members) the first ACommunity Program was started by supplying technical literature to the new library facility at the Canton Area Technical School, now known as Stark Technical College. K. Lapplin, from SME, chaired the committee.

At the August 13, 1970 meeting it was decided that the dues to CJEC should be equal for participating societies regardless of the number of members in any individual society. Also, at this meeting the first slate of officers were elected.

President: Kai Licht (ASQC)
Vice President: W. J. Lyon (IEEE)
Treasurer: R. J. Mohler (CRSPE)
Secretary: T. J. Morgan (CRSPE)

The By-Laws were tentatively accepted at the October 8, 1970 meeting. The application to the State of Ohio for incorporation of the Canton Joint Engineering Council as a non-profit corporation was submitted on September 6, 1970.

On November 12, 1970 CJEC was officially established. Approved incorporation documents number B704, pages 390 through 393 dated October 8, 1970 had been received. The current CJEC Executive Secretary maintains possession of the originals. Tom Morgan was listed as Statutory Agent for the council. A slate of officers were then elected according to the By-Laws:

President: Kai Licht (ASQC)
Vice President: W. J. Lyons (IEEE)
Secretary: G. C. Fisher (AIIE)
Treasurer: R. R. Holfinger (AISE)
Executive Secretary: T. J. Morgan (CRSPE)

The Founding societies and their delegates to CJEC were:

AIIE: American Institute of Industrial Engineers, Stark County Chapter.

Gary C. Fisher and Vern F. Graff

AISE: Association of Iron and Steel Engineers, Canton Section

Robert R. Holfinger and Charles A. Zima

ASCE: American Society of Civil Engineers, Akron Section

Richard C. Freidl and Bryan C. McCoy

ASM: American Society for Metals, Canton - Massillon

John M. Brunner and Robert H. King

ASME: American Society of Mechanical Engineers, Canton, Alliance, Massillon Section

Samuel R. Williams and Richard J. Dohrmann

ASOC: American Society for Quality Control, Akron - Canton Section

Kai Licht and Harry R. Pletcher

CRSPE: Canton Regional Society of Professional Engineers

C. Norris Smith and Herbert Barth

IEEE: Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers Inc., Canton Section

John Schen and William Lyon

SME: Society of Manufacturing Engineers, Chapter 110

Ken Laooin and James Anderson

Also the CJEC logo as designed by Robert B. Timpe of The Timken Co. was approved.

The objectives of CJEC were (and are):

- X Be the coordinating body for the annual observance of National Engineers Week in February
- X Bring the various engineering and scientific societies in Stark County into close association for public service
- X Cooperate in technical activities
- X Promote meetings of mutual interest
- X Conduct effective education programs
- X Assist in the establishment of library materials at the Stark Area Technical Institute
- X Assist Malone College in a program to educate engineers on the problems of pollution and devise means to improve the ecology

On April 12th, 1994 an Ad Hoc committee was formed to review the Constitution and By-Laws. The committee included Greg Mencer (Chairman), Vera Burton, Tim Boron, Frank Cimprich, Denny Dieffenbaugher, Dan Kessler, Rich LaRocco, Surinder Maheshwary, Jim Philips, Phil Roush and Mike Swintosky. They completed their review and submitted the revised Constitution and By-Laws to all CJEC member societies for approval on May 14th, 1996. The changes, which included the addition of a Historical Summary and a description of duties for CJEC officers and Committee Chairs were reviewed and approved by all member societies.

CJEC PRESIDENTS

1969 - 70	Kai Licht	ASQC		
Incorporation was effective October 8, 1970				
1970 - 71	Kai Licht	ASQC		
1971 - 72	W. Lyon	IEEE		
1972 - 73	Richard Friedl	ASCE		
1973 - 74	John L. Durkee	CRSPE		
1974 - 75	Robert Leibensperger	ASME		
1975 - 76	Richard F. Angle	IEEE		
1976 - 77	Larry Phillips	ASCE		
1977 - 78	Ken Landis	ASQC		
1978 - 79	Don Reifsnyder	SME		
1979 - 80	Mike Hettler	ASCE		
1980 - 81	Don VanFossen	ASME		
1981 - 82	Phillip L. Roush	SCACES		
1982 - 83	Jim Locke	SME		
1983 - 84	George Cunningham	AIIE		
1984 - 85	Rick Hunsicker	SCACES		
1985 - 86	Tim Hostetler	IEEE		
1986 - 87	Gary Bresson	ASQC		
1987 - 88	Richard C. Peters	SME		
1988 - 89	Gerald V. Jeskey	ASM		
1989 - 90	Daniel M. Kessler	ASCE		
1990 - 91	Richard A. LaRocco	ASHE		
1991 - 92	Richard C. Peters	SME		

1992 - 93	Richard C. Peters	SME
1993 - 94	Michael Swintosky	ASM International
1994 - 95	Michael Swintosky	ASM International
1995 - 96	Vera M. Burton	SME
1996 - 97	Dennis E. Dieffenbaugher	SME
1997 - 98	Dennis E. Dieffenbaugher	SME
1998 - 99	Richard R. Cook	ASCE
1999 - 00	William H. Richardson	ASME
2000 - 02	Stephen D. Jones	SME
2002 - 03	Michael Rehfus	ASHE
2003 - 05	Brian Werner	ASME
2005 - 07	Krich Sawamiphakdi	ASM
2007 - 09	Dan Kessler	ASCE
2009 - 11	Jeff Yohe	ASHE
2011 - 13	Scott Dilling	CRSPE
2013 - 15	Rick Buchanan	IEEE
2015 - 17	Richard A. LaRocco	ASHE
2017 - 18	Renee Whittenberger	ASCE
2018 - 20	Scott Dilling	CRSPE
2020 -	Michael M. Vale	ASCE

CJEC EXECUTIVE SECRETARIES

1970 - 75	Thomas J. Morgan	
1975 - 80	Kai Licht	
1980 - 85	Larry Phillips	
1985 - 89	George King	
1989 - 94	Frank Cimprich	
1994 - 01	Phillip L. Roush	SCACES
2002 - 07	Richard R. Cook	ASCE
2007 - 13	Richard A. LaRocco	ASHE
2013 - 18	Scott Dilling	CRSPE
2018 -	Richard R. Cook	ASCE